Twelve Modes Of Jazz

463 Words2 Pages
The Twelve Modes of Jazz The twelve modes of Jazz are some of the oldest written pieces of music that we still have and use today. They consist of the modes Lydian, Dorian, Locrian, Myxolydian, Phrygian, Ionian, and Aeolian. They are the basis of all music that we listen to and love today. The history of the 7 modes dates back the Greek Pythagoras who defined the notes A-B-C-D-E-F-G as the notes used in the Greek musical system. The seven modes that the Greeks developed each used their own tonic note which is a note that is flattened or sharpened in order to make the mode sound Minor or Major. As a result, each mode has its own unique sound. During the Greek times when the seven modes were developed, they each got their name from the region or group of people from which they came from. The regions from which they came from were located throughout Italy, Turkey, and Greece. Each Greek mode can be played in different keys, so therefore, there are twelve versions of each mode and each are used in the many common forms of Jazz music and Jazz improvisation Each mode however uses different tonic notes. The Ionian mode(also known as the Major scale) consists of the all 7 notes with no sharps or flats. The Dorian mode, (which is the most used mode in jazz) consist of a minor 3rd and a minor 7th which makes for a minor sounding scale. The Phrygian mode is strictly minor. This scale is used most often in Spanish Flamenco music. It consists of a minor 2nd, 3rd, 6th, and 7th. The Lydian mode uses the Major scale where there is an interval of a perfect 4th below the tonic note. The Lydian mode is used most often with improvisation of Major chords. The Myxolydian mode is the opposite from the Lydian mode because it uses the interval of a perfect 5th below the tonic note or a perfect 4th above the Tonic note. The Myxolydian mode is used in Jazz music for
Open Document