Three Branches Of United States Government

748 Words3 Pages
Three Branches of United States Government Our founding fathers created three separate branches for a powerful and fair national government. They wanted to prevent the government from abusing its power. They did not want the powers of the government to be controlled by one individual or organization. The delegates at the Constitutional Convention were afraid that if an individual or small group received too much power, the United States would wind up under the rule of another dictator. They refused for that to happen because that’s the reason why they began the new world journey, they wanted something different from Great Britain. That is why the government was divided into three branches of government: the Legislative, the Executive and the Judicial Branch. The Legislative Branch is headed by Congress which is made up of two houses of: the Senate and the House of Representatives. Legislative Powers includes passing laws. The House of Representatives originates and spends bills. The Senate impeaches officials and approves treaties. The soul duty of the Legislative Branch is to make Laws. “Under the Constitution, Congress has legislative authority, but that power is partly shared with other branches and thus checked by them” (Patterson 51). This describes that the legislative branch does not have power over any other branch of government; there is checks and balances always occurring throughtout the government.”Within Cogress, there is a further check on legislative power: for legislation to passed, a majority in each chamber of Congress is required” (Patterson 51). Patterson exemplifies the point of how no one soley has power of another person. Our Founding Fathers wanted equality and freedom of an opinion which is what the United States of America is attempting to do everyday. “ The major function of Congress is to enact legislation”(Patterson 410). The head
Open Document