Constitution And Declaration Of Independence

726 Words3 Pages
the Continental Congress, Virginia delegate Richard Henry Lee presented a series of resolutions on June 7, 1776, calling for independence from Great Britain and the establishment of a national government in America. On July 1st, Congress approved the resolutions. Two committees were established; one for drafting a Declaration of Independence, and the other for designing the structure for an American government. Seated on the declaration committee were Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Robert Livingston, Roger Sherman, and John Adams. The manuscript was penned by Jefferson, a 33-year-old Virginian lawyer and planter with a talent for persuasive writing. Though Jefferson was largely credited for authoring the national declaration, many ideas and key phrases were drawn from a colonial document, the Virginia Declaration of Rights, written by George Mason. The Declaration of Independence opened with a justification for a nation’s separation from a ruling power, establishing self-governance within a framework that recognized God as Creator and maker of the laws. The document asserted that people collectively held the right to overthrow any government operating without the consent of the governed. As a measure to defend the actions of Congress, a list of specific grievances against the king was included in the document. The closing paragraph announced that the colonies would be free and independent states, and that the United States would operate as a sovereign nation. The Continental Congress formally adopted the Declaration of Independence on July 4th, 1776. John Adams suggested the date be commemorated every year as “the day of deliverance by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty...” The signers of the Declaration were keenly aware that they might be signing their own death warrant. On September 17th, 1787, the final draft of the Constitution of the
Open Document