Three Branches Of Government In The United States

990 Words4 Pages
Branches of Government HIS/301 August 14th, 2012 Branches of Government After reflecting on our class discussion from Tuesday night, it became clear to us why our Founding Fathers created three different branches of government. We think the most important reason the framers of the Constitution decided to form three branches of government, was to make sure the totalitarian system, which was imposed on colonial America by the English King George III, did not occur again. We believe they also wanted a clear system of checks and balances, which would ensure there was no one person or entity, which held absolute power over the people. After two hundred twenty five years, the system our Founding Fathers developed continues to work today.…show more content…
The year was 1798 when the Federalists Congress passed the controversial Alien and Sedition Acts. It was signed into law by President Adams. According to "U.S. History Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium" (2008-2012), “The Sedition Act was a violation of individual protections under the first amendment of the Constitution.” This did not matter because “Judicial Review” had yet to be developed. Because justices were powerful federalists, James Madison, and Thomas Jefferson collaborated in private and authored the Kentucky and Virginia Resolutions. These resolutions declared that federal laws are invalid in their states and provided a classic statement in support of states’ rights (Kelly, 2012). These rights helped reject federal law and began the justification of strong states rights. This helped bring the southern states into the Civil War ("U.S. History Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium",…show more content…
Fines and imprisonment could be used against those who "Write, print, utter, or publish any false, scandalous and malicious writing" against the government. Under the conditions of this law more than 20 newspaper editors were detained. The editors were Republican and some of them were imprisoned. Today we are familiar with the term “Freedom of Speech.” Americans owe a great deal of gratitude to Thomas Jefferson who despite his disapproval of the restrictions of the Sedition Act was elected President in 1800. “The law eventually expired, and John Adams' Federalist Party never won the presidency again (Head,

More about Three Branches Of Government In The United States

Open Document