The Caribbean Politically

738 Words3 Pages
Geographically, the Caribbean is defined as the land area which has its coastline washed by the Caribbean Sea. This would mean that the Greater and Lesser Antilles, the Cayman Islands and the islands of the Netherland Antilles all belong to the Caribbean. By this definition Turks and Caicos Islands and the Bahamas would however be excluded from the Caribbean. It would also include Belize, Colombia, Venezuela, Costa Rico; Panama, Nicaragua and Honduras and exclude the mainland territories of Suriname, Guyana and French Guiana. Citizenship in the Caribbean today represents a varied set of relationships between citizens and their governments, and sometimes governments outside the region. Many Caribbean countries are now politically independent, favouring different forms of governance, namely; Independent States, Associated States and Colonial Dependencies. This essay will seek to show politically, the Caribbean and the limitations of using this definition. Firstly, there are three kinds of governmental systems that exist: independent states, associated states and colonial dependencies. Independent States are those former colonies which are now self-governing. These are islands that have chosen a method of governance that is different from their colonial masters, namely; democracy or communism. Associated States are those territories that are not independent but enjoy all rights and privileges of the country that governs it. Colonial Dependencies are those territories that are governed by other countries but do not enjoy the same rights and privileges that is enjoyed by inhabitants of that Associated State. Several of the former colonial powers still possess territories in the Caribbean or have very close relations with them. Guadeloupe, Martinique and French Guyana are so called "departementes doutre-mer” and thus are part of Frances sovereign territory and part of
Open Document