SciTronics had a total of $ 102,000 (75,000 + 27,000) of capital at year-end 2008 and earned before interest but after taxes (EBIAT) $ 16,120 (avg. tax rate = 38%) during 2008. Its return on capital was 15.8% in 2008 which represented an increase from the 8.7% earned in 2005. 4. SciTronics had $ 75,000 of owners’ equity and earned $ 14,000 after taxes in 2008.
(TCO A) On March 1, 2010, Ruiz Corporation issued $800,000 of 8% nonconvertible bonds at 104, which are due on February 28, 2030. In addition, each $1,000 bond was issued with 25 detachable stock warrants, each of which entitled the bondholder to purchase for $50 one share of Ruiz common stock, par value $25. The bonds without the warrants would normally sell at 95. On March 1, 2010, the fair market value of Ruiz's common stock was $40 per share and the fair market value of the warrants was $2.00. What amount should Ruiz record on March 1, 2010 as paid-in capital from stock warrants?
35,000 / 63 = 555.55 556 is break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month. c. If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $ 190, it is estimated that the average load factor will decrease to 60 percent. What will be the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars? To find the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars if Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $190.00 and the estimation that the average load factor will decrease to 60%, the following calculation is provided: $3,150,000 / $120.000 = $26,250 is the break-even in passengers. 90 / 60% = 54 is the average passenger per car.
Even though the acid-test ratio is less than 1 which rates in the lower third quartile in the industry of 1.6, 0.9 to 0.6, it indicates a concern with repaying current liabilities. This could be due to quick expansion of inventory with the intention of increasing sales. While this is currently considered a weakness and is concerning, a rise in the ratio should be seen by 2013 due to the increase of suggested sales. 3. I calculated an “inventory turnover ratio” which measures the number of times a company sells its inventory during a year.
In year 2 it reports a $40,000 loss. For year 3, it reports taxable income from operations of $100,000 before any loss carryovers. Using the corporate tax rate table, determine how much tax Willow Corp. will pay for year 3. Answer: $4,500. Description (1) Year 3 taxable income $100,000 (2) Year 1 NOL carryforward ($30,000) (3) Year 2 NOL carryforward ($40,000) (4) Taxable income reported 30,000 (1) - (2) -
• Significant debt issue is a concern as it is risky and in conflict with the company’s culture and managerial of low-risk attitude. Hence, 20% debt-to-capital restructure is recommended as it is not significant amount as opposed to other alternatives. • Other effects, including financial distress, signaling, investment and clientele considerations, are difficult to measure but predictable to balance out to a mildly optimistic set of considerations. • An alternative approach is to increase debt in order to use the proceeds to pay dividends, however it is not recommended. In conclusion, if Hill Country were to engage in the leveraged recapitalization, this report would highly recommend the 20% debt-to-capital ratio be used to repurchase shares.
Theoretically, the weights should be based on market values, but if a firm’s book value weights are reasonably close to its market value weights, book value weights can be used as a proxy for market value weights. Consequently, target market value weights should be used in the WACC equation. 12- In general, failing to adjust for differences in risk would lead the firm to accept too many risky projects and reject too many safe ones. Over time, the firm would become more risky, its WACC would increase, and its shareholder value would suffer. The cost of capital for average-risk projects would be the firm’s cost of capital, 10%.
Case Study 1 a) What is the break-even point in passengers and revenues per month? Contribution margin per passenger = $ 160- $ 70 = $ 90 per passenger Contribution margin ratio = $ 90/$160 = 56.25% Passengers = $3,150,000/$ 90 per passenger = 35,000 passengers Break-even point in dollars = $ 3,150,000/0.5625 = $ 5,600,000 b) What is the break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month? Average load factor = 70% of 9090 X 0.70 = 63 seats per train car 35,000/ 63 = 556 train cars c) If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $ 190, it is estimated that the average load factor will decrease to 60 percent. What will be the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars? Contribution margin = $190 - $ 70 = $120 per passenger 90 X .60 = 54 filled seats Break-even point in passengers = $ 3,150,000/$120 = 26,250 passengers 26,250/54 = 486 train cars d) (Refer to original data.)
Is the use of a monthly average price a net advantage or disadvantage to J & L? Using NYMEX contracts will minimize the asset mismatch aspect of basic risk, along with a better liquidity. However, since diesel fuel is not a traded commodity, it cannot be directly hedged and J&L will suffer a certain amount of basis risk. J&L will also need to post a margin for their future contracts at NYMEX. Using product offered by Continental Bank would require a higher cost for J&L, and illiquid compared with NYMEX.
The beta of the stock is 1.05, and there were 200 million shares outstanding (trading at $60 per share), with a book value of $5 billion. Union Pacific paid 40% of its earnings as dividends and working capital requirements are negligible. (The treasury bond rate is 7%.) The market risk premium is 5.5%. a.