What will the monthly break even point in the number of passenger cars? 54 Contribution Margin 120 Break even point in passengers 26250 Train cars (rounded) 486.1111111 Rounded 486 d. Contribution Margin= $70 Break even point in passenger 45000 Train Cars= 45,000/ 63 714.2 Rounded 714 e. How many passengers per month are needed to generate an after tax profit of $750,000 Contribution Margin= $205-$85 $120.00 After tax= $750,000/ .70 1071428.57 Number of Passengers $205- $85 = $1,071.429 + $3,600,000 $120 = 4671429 38928.57 Number of Passengers Rounded 38929 f. Number of discounted seats Contribution Margin= $120 - $70 $50 Passenger seats= 90 X.80 72 Train Cars= 72 X $ 50 X 50 $180,000 Train cars per day x
So, if we take random values for r2 between 0 and 1 then we will get different values of time intervals in weeks between successive breakdowns. 3. Lost revenue It is given that they charge $0.10 per copy and number of copies sold in one day follows a uniform probability distribution between 2000 and 8000 copies. Therefore, if we chose a random variable r3 whose value is in between 2000 and 8000 then the lost revenue will be 0.1×r3×repair time. By putting different values for r3, we can get a number of lost revenues by simulation method.
If you choose 40 random employees from the corporation, the standard error would equal 6/Square root of 40 = .95 days. The 12 days in this department corresponds to (12-8.2)/.95 = 4 standard errors above the corporation average of 8.2. This is much higher than two or three standard errors, and it appears to be beyond chance variation. Chapter 9 Exercise 3 The p- value tells you how likely it would be to get results at least as extreme as this if there was no difference in the taste and only chance variation was operating. In this problem, p-value of 0.02 means that, if there is no difference in taste, then there is only 2% chance that 70% or more people would declare one drink better than the
What is the break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month? 1 car loaded by 70%, and there are 90 seats. Per month, the break-even for passengers is 35000. .7 * 90= 63 passengers, 35000/63 Break-even for number of cars 555.5555556: 556 c. If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $ 190, it is estimated that the average load factor will decrease to 60 percent. What will be the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars?
35,000 / 63 = 555.55 556 is break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month. c. If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $ 190, it is estimated that the average load factor will decrease to 60 percent. What will be the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars? To find the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars if Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $190.00 and the estimation that the average load factor will decrease to 60%, the following calculation is provided: $3,150,000 / $120.000 = $26,250 is the break-even in passengers. 90 / 60% = 54 is the average passenger per car.
,Sarah L. G January 6, 2013 Written Assignment #1 1. A) $1,000 with 5% interest after 10 years gives you $1,628. Therefore, you would gain $628 in interest. B) If the interest is withdrawn each year, a total of $500 would be earned because the $1,000 investment would earn $50 of simple interest each year. C) The answers are different because if the interest is left untouched, it makes the principal amount higher each year, giving more money after 10 years.
Case Study 1 a) What is the break-even point in passengers and revenues per month? Contribution margin per passenger = $ 160- $ 70 = $ 90 per passenger Contribution margin ratio = $ 90/$160 = 56.25% Passengers = $3,150,000/$ 90 per passenger = 35,000 passengers Break-even point in dollars = $ 3,150,000/0.5625 = $ 5,600,000 b) What is the break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month? Average load factor = 70% of 9090 X 0.70 = 63 seats per train car 35,000/ 63 = 556 train cars c) If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare to $ 190, it is estimated that the average load factor will decrease to 60 percent. What will be the monthly break-even point in number of passenger cars? Contribution margin = $190 - $ 70 = $120 per passenger 90 X .60 = 54 filled seats Break-even point in passengers = $ 3,150,000/$120 = 26,250 passengers 26,250/54 = 486 train cars d) (Refer to original data.)
The combined taxes are lower under part b because the majority of the corporation's earnings are only subject to one level of tax (the individual tax on the salary). In part a the taxable income after salary is $200,000 but in part b it is $50,000 since the deduction of $150,000 is taken and this leads to only $50,000 that is taxed twice in part b. 66. [LO 3] In its first year of existence (year 1), Willow Corp. (a C corporation) reported a loss for tax purposes of $30,000. In year 2 it reports a $40,000 loss.
During 2004, the situation got worse and the assets had gone down to 48.5%. Lucent’s cash and cash equivalents went down from 24% of their entire assets in 2003 to almost 20% in 2004. Lucent’s inventories, however, came up from 4.0% in 2003 to 4.8% in 2004, this is about a 20 percent increase in the total inventory. Lucent Technologies had a quite significant drop of their debt structure between the years of 2003 and 2004. While the current liability dropped from 25.6% in 2003 to 24.3% in 2004, it is apparent that this company has allocated for this as a long-term debt since it rose from 23% of total liabilities in 2003 to 26.4% in 2004.
The beta of the stock is 1.05, and there were 200 million shares outstanding (trading at $60 per share), with a book value of $5 billion. Union Pacific paid 40% of its earnings as dividends and working capital requirements are negligible. (The treasury bond rate is 7%.) The market risk premium is 5.5%. a.