Three Colonial Regions

918 Words4 Pages
Three Colonial Regions In North America there were three colonial regions that appeared in different geographical areas; the New England, Southern, and Middle colonies. Although these colonies were all founded by the English, different agricultural and industrial opportunities led to a distinctive economy and lifestyle. Because the three colonial regions were in different areas the climate varied depending on where they were located. New England consisted of four colonies which included; New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island. There were five colonies in the southern region that consisted of North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, Virginia, and Georgia. The Middle colonies became independent of Britain as the states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, and Delaware. In total there were thirteen colonies. The founders of the New England colonies had a different goal than the Jamestown settlers. New England was named by John Smith. Although economic accomplishments were still important to them, their true goal was spiritual. The main function of the New England colonies were to support the religion on the Puritans. Church was very important to the colonists in this region, many people came from England for religious freedom. The climate was colder than the other two colonial regions because they were the farthest north. Although the severe winters killed many people, it also prevented the spread of life-threatening diseases. The natural resources were more important than the agricultural crops because they had poor, rocky soil and a short growing season. The amount of natural resources in New England were extremely high with a variety of seafood including fish, lobster, and whales. Animals weren't the only natural resources in New England, there were also maple tress which provided wood and sap for syrup. The farmers exported grain and
Open Document