Inversely, when a share repurchase is seen as treasury stock, the cost of the treasury stock is naturally disclosed as a decrease in total shareholders’ equity. Alcoa would report the purchase of the treasury stock by debiting treasury stock and crediting cash for the charge of the purchase. The treasury stock ought to be disclosed independently in the shareholders' equity area of Alcoa’s balance sheet as an unallocated cut of shareholders' equity. These shares are treated as issued although not part of common stock outstanding. If subsequently resold for a sum larger than the cost, Alcoa should report for the sale of the treasury stock by debiting cash for the sale cost, crediting treasury stock for cost, and crediting additional paid-in capital from repurchased stock for the excess of the selling price over the cost.
$1,500,000/$12,000,000 = 0.125 or 12.5% Each dollar of revenue produces 12.5% of net income or profit. Cash flow= cash generated during the year The rough estimation of cash flow = net income + non -cash expenses, in this case, $1,500,000 + $1,500,000 = 3,000,000 C. Now, suppose the company changed its depreciation calculation procedures (still within GAAP) such that its depreciation expense doubled. How would this change affect Brandywine’s net income, total profit margin, and cash flow? Brandywine Homecare Income statement with double depreciation expense: Month ending December 31, 2007 Revenue $12,000,000 Total revenue $12,000,000 Expenses: Depreciation $ 1,500,000x2= 3,000,000 Other 12,000,000 x 75/100 = 9,000,000 Total expenses= Depreciation + Other expenses= 1,500,000x2+ 9,000,000= $12,000,000 Total revenue – total expenses = Net income or Profit - 12,000,000- 12,000,000= 0 What
2. (TCO A) Garrett Manufacturing owns 10% of the common stock of Timberline Corporation and used the fair-value method to account for this investment. Timberline reported a net income of $110,000 for 20X2 and paid dividends of $50,000 on October 1, 20X2. How much income should Garrett recognize on this investment in 20X2? (Points : 5) | $50,000 $16,500 $25,500 $7,500 $5,000 | Question 3.
"It all depends on the assumptions." To see just how good some of the new metrics are at valuing acquisitions, we asked both Stern Stewart and HOLT Value Associates LP to calculate a fair value for Snapple at the time of its acquisition by Quaker, using only data that was publicly available at that time. Stern Stewart declined, citing its former consulting relationship with Quaker, but HOLT agreed to take on the assignment using its CFROI (cash flow return on investment) methodology. First, some background. In valuing a company whose CFROI is higher than average, HOLT assumes those returns will gradually fade toward the market norm because of competitive pressures.
$4,000 4) The interest paid for the loan for stocks, bonds, and securities is only deductable up to the Net Income amount of the Interest Income. If interest income was $7,000 and expenses were $500, then Net Interest Income is $6,500. Mike and Sally paid $15,000 of interest on the loan for the stocks, bonds, and securities so they are allowed to deduct $6,500 and the leftover expense, can be carried forward to the next year. THEREFORE: The total deductable interest is $13,000. (2,500+4,000+6,500=$13,000) 8-40) A) Charlie is allowed the tax deduction of the charitable contribution at the basis price of $600 because it is defined as ordinary income property.
1127 Case Study 2-1 According to FASB Accounting Standard Codification 605-50-45 Cash consideration given by a vendor to a customer is considered to be a reduction of the selling prices, therefore, shall be recorded as a reduction of revenue in the vendor’s income statement. It should be represented as a cost incurred to the extent that both of the following are met: * ”The vendor receives, or will receive, an identifiable benefit in exchange for the consideration. In order to meet this condition, the identified benefit must be sufficiently separable from the recipient’s purchase of the vendor’s products such that the vendor could have entered into an exchange transaction with a party other than a purchaser of its products or services in order to receive that benefit.” * “The vendor can reasonably estimate the fair value of the benefit identified under the preceding condition. If the amount of consideration paid by the vendor exceeds the estimated fair value of the benefit received, that excess amount shall be characterized as a reduction of revenue when recognized in the vendor’s income statement.” https://asc.fasb.org/section&trid=2197430 In Case study 2-1 Rainbow should recognize the sales incentive on the income statement as a reduction of sales because there is no sufficiently separable benefit to the entity. According to paragraph 605-50-25 certain sales incentives entitle a customer to receive a reduction in the price of a product or service of a specified amount of a prior purchase price charged to the customer at the point of sale.
Given the following cash flow stream at the end of each year: Year 1: $4,000 Year 2: $2,000 Year 3: 0 Year 4: -$1,000 Using a 10% discount rate, the present value of this cash flow stream is: a. $4,606 b. $3,415 c. $3,636 d. Other 8. Consider a 10-year annuity that promises to pay out $10,000 per year, given this is an ordinary annuity and that an investor can earn 10% on her money, the future value of this annuity, at the end of 10 years, would be: a. $175,312 b.
With this new development, if we assume that the previous 4,796,000 shares of common stock that were originally issued in March of 1993 are now also worth $1 per share, this gives a total of $4,796,000. The total valuation of the company will then be $800,000 + $4,796,000 = $5,596,000. This is the value that we believe to represent the valuation of Neverfail as of November 1994. After round 1 of VC investment: Due to the deal with the Pacific Ridge, Neverfail share prices were going for $1.50 per share The Company was valued at $9 million as of December 1994 according to the case study. Initial value of Pacific ridge investment (December 1995) is: 666,667 * $1.50 + 133,333 * $0.3 = $1,040,000.4 (initial investment, exhibit 7).
The repayment of the coupon bond will be the par value plus the last coupon payment times the number of bonds issued. So: Coupon bonds repayment = 30,000($1,000+40)) = $31,200,000 The repayment of the zero coupon bond will be the par value times the number of bonds issued, so:Zeroes: repayment = 315,589($1,000+0) = $315,588,822 3. Bond P is a premium bond with a 12 percent coupon. Bond D is a 6 percent coupon bond currently selling at a discount. Both bonds make annual payments, have a YTM of 9 percent, and have five years to maturity.