Powers of the Federal Government

467 Words2 Pages
The federal government of the United States of America is an extremely large, complex and powerful organization. Throughout the years since the Constitution was ratified in 1789, it has grown and evolved into arguably the most powerful government on Earth. To fully understand the extent of its reach, one must recognize the three separate branches that make up the U.S. government. First there is the executive branch which is made up of the President, the Vice President and the members of the President’s cabinet. There is also the legislative branch which is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. Finally there is the judicial branch which is under the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United States. Together these three branches work together to provide a safe, fair and healthy environment for the American people. The executive branch of the U.S. government refers to the executive power possessed by the President of the United States. Although the President has the power, he generally delegates responsibilities to the Vice President as well as members of his cabinet. The other branches of government prevent the President from acting like a monarch or dictator but the President is able to sign legislation into law as well as veto it. The executive branch is held with the responsibility of enforcing the laws that are set by the legislative branch. For over a century the president of the United States has been arguably the most powerful man in the world. The legislative branch is the section of government that makes the laws for the rest of the nation. It is made up of a bicameral system; the House of Representatives and the Senate which are known together as Congress. The main roles of Congress are to pass the nation’s laws and to allocate funds for the annual budget. One of the most important powers that the legislative branch has is the
Open Document