Parts of an Atom

327 Words2 Pages
Open Response Essay for “The Lottery” In this unit you will be reading, analyzing, and responding to the short story “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson (Open The Lottery Essay and The Lottery Essay Map). Using the 10-Step Process for Literacy: Writing, you will craft an essay that meets our learning objective. Because this process is heavily detail-oriented, Class Connect sessions are mandatory to ensure comprehension. If you are not able to attend live, make sure you watch the recordings each day. Learning Objective: CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.8.1 Write arguments to support claims with clear reasons and relevant evidence.* Schedule Monday, Oct. 13: Read “The Lottery” (Open The Lottery Open Response Essay and The Lottery Essay Map) Tuesday, Oct. 14: Close-read “The Lottery” Wednesday, Oct. 15: Map out open response essay (The Lottery Essay Map) Thursday, Oct. 16: Finish essay map Friday, Oct. 17: Submit The Lottery Essay Map to the Dropbox Monday, Oct. 20: Begin writing essay Tuesday, Oct. 21: Finish writing essay Wednesday, Oct. 22: Revise, proofread, and edit essay Thursday, Oct. 23: Revise, proofread, and edit essay Friday, Oct. 24: Submit The Lottery Essay to the Dropbox *Your written argument should meet the following standards: a) CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.8.1.a Introduce claim(s), acknowledge and distinguish the claim(s) from alternate or opposing claims, and organize the reasons and evidence logically. b) CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.8.1.b Support claim(s) with logical reasoning and relevant evidence, using accurate, credible sources and demonstrating an understanding of the topic or text. c) CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.8.1.c Use words, phrases, and clauses to create cohesion and clarify the relationships among claim(s), counterclaims, reasons, and evidence. d) CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.8.1.d Establish and maintain a formal style of writing.

More about Parts of an Atom

Open Document