Levels and Reaponsibilites of Government (P1, P2, M1)

2131 Words9 Pages
(European Parliament) The European Parliament (EU) is made up by 736 members (MEP’s) who represent all 27 member states of the EU. The UK has 72 members elected who represent the country’s interest in the EU. The role of the parliament is to draft legislations that have an impact across all EU states, on issues such as transport, environment, equality, consumer rights, and the movement of workers and goods. Central Government Central Government is the layer of government that operates across the whole country, and has very specific responsibilities that no other level of government is able to do, such as defending the nation, making laws and signing treaties/agreements with other nations. The Three Tiers of Parliament Monarchy: The UK head of state is currently reigning the monarchy, and since 1952, has been HM Queen Elizabeth II, although laws are generated and approved by an elected body- The Houses of Parliament. The Queen has several important formal and ceremonial governmental roles, such as opening each new session of Parliament, dissolving Parliament before law, appointment of the Prime Minister (PM) and peers, advice, and guidance to the PM, and final approval of laws via ‘Royal Assent’. House of Commons: 650 elected MP’s who represent a broad spectrum of political parties make up the House of Commons. They are elected to the House of Commons by either a general election or a by-election. A range of political views and interests are represented, which enables the House of Commons to ensure that legislation and decisions are well debated by a variety of individuals holding different political views. House of Lords: Around 737 life peers, Bishops and Archbishops make up the House of Lords. The House of Lords has three main duties; law creation, scrutiny, and independent expertise. Responsibilities of Parliament Legislative: Parliament is the UK body
Open Document