The Clean Clothes Laundry Corner Shawn Morris MG585 - Managerial Decisions September 20, 2013 Dr. John Theodore The Clean Clothes Laundry Corner (A) What is Molly’s current monthly volume? Molly’s fixed costs are $1,700 per month, and her variable costs are $0.25 per item, in which Molly is charging $1.10 per clothing item. Molly’s current monthly volume is 2,000 items. The answer was derived by using the following equation: $1,700 ÷ (1.1 – $0.25) = 2000 (B) If Molly purchases the new equipment, how many additional items will she have to dry-clean each month to break even? Using information given in question C, the $16,200 in new machinery will be divided up over 36 months.
All sales are made on account at $20 per unit. Sixty percent of the sales are collected in the month of sale; the remaining 40% are collected in the following month. Forecasted sales for the first five months of 20X2 are: January, 1,500 units,- February, 1,600 units; March, 1,800 units; April, 2,000 units; May, 2,100 units. 2. Management wants to maintain the finished goods inventory at 30% of the following month's sales.
REVIEW Problem: (Chapter 2) Bob Sample opened the Campus Laundromat on September 1, 2012. During the first month of operations, the following transactions occurred. Sept. 1 Bob invested $20,000 cash in the business. 2 The company paid $1,000 cash for store rent for September. 3 Purchased washers and dryers for $25,000, paying $10,000 in cash and signing a $15,000, 6-month, 12% note payable.
According to the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, an employee who works more than the maximum of forty hours per weeks must be paid no less than 1.5 times his/her regular pay rate for all hours over forty (Hollowell & Miller, 2012). The FLSA takes concern in child labor laws, minimum wages, and overtime provisions. Overtime is usually referred to as “time and a half”, which means you are paid one and a half times the hourly rate for each hour worked over the forty hour limit. In this case, I only achieved more than forty hours for the first two weeks. Since I am a non-exempt employee, I have to be paid minimum wage: $7.25 as of July 24, 2009 (Hollowell & Miller, 2012).
We make 30,000 of these fire extinguishers per year. Each extinguisher requires one handle (assume a 300 day work year for daily usage rate purposes). Assume an annual carrying cost of $1.50 per handle; production setup cost of $150, and a daily production rate of 300. What is the optimal production order quantity? (4 points) Problem 4: We need 1,000 electric drills per year.
ACCT 311 Final Exam Solution https://hwguiders.com/downloads/acct-311-final-exam-solution/ ACCT 311 Final Exam Solution 1. XYZ Company sells appliance service contracts agreeing to repair appliances for a two-year period. XYZ’s past experience is that, of the total dollars spent for repairs on service contracts, 40% is incurred evenly during the first contract year and 60% evenly during the second contract year. Receipts from service contract sales for the two years ended December 31, year 2, are as follows: Year 1 | $500,000 | Year 2 | $600,000 | Receipts from contracts are credited to unearned service contract revenue. Assume that all contract sales are made evenly during the year.
These changes will add $1.00 per bottle to the variable cost of sales. Calculate the new break even given the increase in variable costs. After charging $1.00 more per bottle, the company would have to sell 1,600 bottles per day which would be 20% sales loss. 3. To reposition its water as a premium product, Healthy Spring will require an increase in its advertising and promotion budget of $900 daily.
Mountain Gear can manufacture mountain climbing shoes for $14.95 per pair in variable raw material costs and $18.46 per paid in variable labor costs. The shoes sell for $127 per pair. Last year, production was 170,000 pairs and fixed costs were $830,000. What is the minimum acceptable total revenue the company should accept for a one-time order for an extra 10,000 pairs? A.
Next is the number of pumps one employee can produce in one month. Which is, 771/25 (number of pumps for one employee a month, the company would need a total of 30.8 workers, or 31 (rounding up). After this information is gathered, these are the possible results: • We need to hire 11 more employees (there are now 20, and we need 31) • In the case reading, it is shown that there are up front cost of $1100 this is found the $100.00 hiring cost, multiplied by the 11 new employees. • Monthly production ----- 775 (31 workers x 25 pumps per worker) • The end of month inventory will be figured as 1 will be 225 >>>> this is the production of 775 (+) existing inventory of 50 = 825, then (-) the production of 600. Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 Demand 600 750 1000 850 750 700 Production 775 775 775 775 775