DSO = Receivables / Ave. sales per day Receivables= DSO * Ave. sales per day = 20 * 20,000 Receivables= $400,000 (3-2) Debt Ratio: Vigo Vacations has an equity multiplier of 2.5. The company’s assets are financed with some combination of long-term debt and common equity. What is the company’s debt ratio? Debt ratio = 1 – (1 / Equity multiplier) Debt ratio = 1 – (1/2.5) = 1 - .40 = .60 Debt ratio = 60% (3-3) Market/Book Ratio: Winston Washers’s stock price is $75 per share. Winston has $10 billion in total assets.
What is the amount of its credit carryover and the last year to which the carryover could be used? Answer: $7,750 carried over to 2004 or 2025 4. Margolin Corporation has a regular taxable income of $120,000. It has a positive adjustment of $90,000, preference items of $50,000 and negative adjustments of $40,000. What is its alternative minimum tax?
A. $16,500 B. $9,000 C. $25,500 D. $7,500 E. $50,000 Difficulty: Easy 2. Yaro Company owns 30% of the common stock of Dew Co. and uses the equity method to account for the investment. During 2008, Dew reported income of $250,000 and paid dividends of $80,000.
Analysis of stockholders' equity Star Corporation issued both common and preferred stock during 20X6. The stockholders' equity sections of the company's balance sheets at the end of 20X6 and 20X5 follow: 20X6 20X5 Preferred stock, $100 par value, 10% $580,000 $500,000 Common stock, $10 par value 2,350,000 1,750,000 Paid-in capital in excess of par value Preferred 24,000 — Common 4,620,000 3,600,000 Retained earnings 8,470,000 6,920,000 Total stockholders' equity $16,044,000 $12,770,000 a. Compute the number of preferred shares that were issued during 20X6. 100 b. Calculate the average issue price of the common stock sold in 20X6. $27 c. By what amount did the company's paid-in capital increase during 20X6?
11. If D0 = $1.75, g (which is constant) = 3.6%, and P0 = $32.00, what is the stock’s expected total return for the coming year? Expected Return= D0 X (1+g)/P0 + g = 1.75 X (1+3.6%)/32 + 3.6% = 9.27% 12. Molen Inc. has an outstanding issue of perpetual preferred stock with an annual dividend of $7.50 per share. If the required return on this preferred stock is 6.5%, at what price should the preferred stock sell?
| | | | | Score: | 0/10 | | 2. Chapter 10 - The Cost of Capital Question MC #65 Bosio Inc.'s perpetual preferred stock sells for $75.00 per share, and it pays an $8.50 annual dividend. If the company were to sell a new preferred issue, it would incur a flotation cost of 4.00% of the price paid by investors. What is the company's cost of preferred stock for use in calculating the WACC?
Q= 4 weeks supply = 1600 units R= 400 units a week= 20000 units/ year C= purchase cost per unit= $1250 X (1-.20)= 1,000 H= holding cost= rC= $200 per unit / year S= setup cost= 2000 + 93.75 = $2,093.75 Setups per year= R/Q= 20000/1600= 12.5 Annual setup cost= (R/Q)(S)=12.5X $2,093.75= $26,172 Annual Holding cost= (q/2)(H)= (1600 /2)X $200= $160,000 Total Annual Cost= Annual Setup Cost+ Annual Holding Cost Total Annual Cost= 26,172+160,000 BIM’S Total Annual Cost= $186,172 (b) Compute the economic batch size and the resulting cost savings. Qo= √2RS/H= √(2(20000)(2093.75)/200) = 647 Economic Batch size= 647 Annnual setup cost= (R/Q)(S)= (20000/647) X 2093.75= $64,722 Annual Holding Cost= (Q/2)H= (647/2)X $200= 64,700 Total Annual Cost= Annual setup cost+ Annual Holding Cost Total Annual Cost= $64,722+ $64,700 = $129,422 Cost savings= $186,172- $129,422= $56,750 Cost savings= $56,750 Question 3 (a) Compute Victor’s total annual cost of ordering and carrying inventory. Assumption= 52 weeks/year R = 30 dresses per week = 30 X 52 weeks per year = $1560 Sales price = $300/dress C = 150 per dress Order Lead Time = 2 weeks Fixed Order Cost = S = $225 Cost of Capital = r = 20% Annual Holding cost = H = rC = 150 X 20% = $30 per dress Q = 10 week supply X $30 Annual
Nick’s Enchiladas Incorporated has preferred stock outstanding that pays a dividend of $5 at the end of each year. The preferred sells for $50 a share. What is the stock’s required rate of return? A company currently pays a dividend of $2 per share (D0 = $2). It is estimated that the company’s dividend will grow at a rate of 20% per year for the next 2 years, then at a constant rate of 7% thereafter.
ASX & Media Release Thursday 12 September 2013 Myer Full Year Results ending 27 July 2013 Full year total sales up 0.8 percent to $3,145 million Operating gross profit up 1.8 percent to $1,312 million Operating gross margin up 40 basis points to 41.7 percent Net profit after tax down 8.7 percent to $127 million Full year dividend of 18 cents, fully franked FY2013 Financial Highlights Sales Total sales up 0.8% to $3,145 million, up 0.4% on a comparable store sales basis Myer Exclusive Brands sales up $40 million to 20.0% of sales, Concessions up $18 million to 15.4% of sales Operating gross profit Operating gross profit up 1.8% to $1,312 million Operating gross profit margin up 40 basis points (bps) to 41.7% Earnings Cost of doing
$1,500,000/$12,000,000 = 0.125 or 12.5% Each dollar of revenue produces 12.5% of net income or profit. Cash flow= cash generated during the year The rough estimation of cash flow = net income + non -cash expenses, in this case, $1,500,000 + $1,500,000 = 3,000,000 C. Now, suppose the company changed its depreciation calculation procedures (still within GAAP) such that its depreciation expense doubled. How would this change affect Brandywine’s net income, total profit margin, and cash flow? Brandywine Homecare Income statement with double depreciation expense: Month ending December 31, 2007 Revenue $12,000,000 Total revenue $12,000,000 Expenses: Depreciation $ 1,500,000x2= 3,000,000 Other 12,000,000 x 75/100 = 9,000,000 Total expenses= Depreciation + Other expenses= 1,500,000x2+ 9,000,000= $12,000,000 Total revenue – total expenses = Net income or Profit - 12,000,000- 12,000,000= 0 What