Features of the Three Branches of Christianity

762 Words4 Pages
Features of the Three Branches of Christianity Within Christianity, there are three major branches that have different features from one another (Roman Catholicism, Orthodox, and Protestantism). Like all main world religions, Christianity has been around for many centuries. It has many different groups within it which all differ from one another in a way. The Roman Empire legally recognized Pauline Christianity as a valid religion. Later on, Roman Catholicism became the prominent religion of the Roman Empire. After that, the following 1000 years, Catholics were the only ones considered Christians. In 1054, the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox churches divided. This division is still present today. The following important division occurred in the 16th century with the Protestant Reformation. Those who remained faithful to Roman Catholicism believed that the central regulation of doctrine by church leaders was necessary to prevent confusion and division within the church and corruption of its beliefs. Most of these branches agree on the basic belief of the faith regarding Jesus, salvation by his death, the oneness of God, and the existence of heaven and hell. They differ however in different important points which caused the division among Christianity. The Roman Catholic branch of Christianity is governed by a hierarchy with the pope at the top and then the bishops and priests follow. The Roman Catholic Church is the largest out of the three branches of Christianity. Catholics believe the power of the church lies within the hierarchy of the church but Protestants believe that the power lies within the believers themselves. The rituals of communion and confession are especially important in the Roman Catholic Church. Catholics are also different from most Protestants in emphasizing worshipping of the saints, especially Mary, the mother of Jesus. They pray to the
Open Document