Explain The Levels Of Government

433 Words2 Pages
Levels of government and their responsibilities European parliament: the European parliament has three main roles, debating and passing European laws, with the council. Scrutinising other EU institutions to make sure they are working as they should. Debating and adopting the EU’s budget, with the council. The European parliament is the only directly elected body of the European Union. It has 736 members called MEPs. They are elected once every five years. Central government: the central government for the uk is based in London where the houses of parliament is. The heart of central government is parliament which consists of the House of Commons and House of Lords. The central government also includes the prime minister, the cabinet, the…show more content…
The responsibilities are opening parliament, dissolving parliament at election time, appointing the prime minister, appointing peers, approving laws and advising and providing guidance to the prime minister. House of commons: there are 646 elected members of parliament called MPs. They have responsibilities such as, making laws, controlling finance, creating delegated legislation, scrutinising decisions, protecting the rights of individuals and examining proposals from Europe. house of lords: they have a variable number of members, it is currently 724. Responsibilities of the lords include creating laws, scrutinising decisions and offering independent expertise. branches of government: there is three forms of power in our society, these are called branches of the g government. • Executive: they have the power to suggest new laws and make sure existing laws are implemented • Legislative: they have the power to make laws • Judicial: they have the power to interpret the laws and make judgements on whether laws have been broken Main roles at government levels: Prime minister, Government ministers, London assembly, Mayors, Members of parliament and Council
Open Document