E-Commerce Essay

8753 Words36 Pages
Semantic Web Support for the Business-to-Business E-Commerce Lifecycle David Trastour, Claudio Bartolini, Chris Preist Trusted E-Services Laboratory HP Laboratories Bristol HPL-2002-3 (R.1) April 5th , 2002* E-mail: david_trastour@hp.com, claudio_bartolini@hp.com ,chris_preist@hp.com semantic web, e-commerce, matchmaking, automated negotiation, DAML+OIL, service description If an e-services approach to electronic commerce is to become widespread, standardisation of ontologies, message content and message protocols will be necessary. In this paper, we present a lifecycle of a business-to-business e-commerce interaction, and show how the Semantic Web can support a service description language that can be used throughout this lifecycle. By using DAML+OIL, we develop a service description language sufficiently expressive and flexible to be used not only in advertisements, but also in matchmaking queries, negotiation proposals and agreements. We also identify which operations must be carried out on this description language if the B2B lifecycle is to be fully supported. We do not propose specific standard protocols, but instead argue that our operators are able to support a wide variety of interaction protocols, and so will be fundamental irrespective of which protocols are finally adopted. * Internal Accession Date Only © Copyright Hewlett-Packard Company 2002 Approved for External Publication Semantic Web Support for the Business-to-Business E-Commerce Lifecycle David Trastour david trastour@hp.com Claudio Bartolini claudio bartolini@hp.com Hewlett-Packard Laboratories Filton Road, Stoke Gifford Bristol, BS34 8QZ, UK Chris Preist chris preist@hp.com ABSTRACT If an e-services approach to electronic commerce is to become widespread, standardisation of ontologies, message content and message protocols will be necessary. In this paper, we present

More about E-Commerce Essay

Open Document