Wet berries are 70% of all berries. Holding bins 17-24 are dedicated to wet berries. Capacity of the dumpers is 3,000 bbl / hr (it takes on average 7.5 minutes to dump a truck, a truck holds on average 75 bbl so, from Little's Law, each of the five dumpers will take 600 bbl/hr). Drivers are paid $18/hr. Rates for other employees are given in the case.
The maximum current throughput rate of RP1is 975bbl. Because the maximum throughput rate for wet berries is 600bbl/hr due to the bottleneck/dryers. 375 bbl/hr is the throughput rate for the dry berries. So, 600bbl/hr for wet plus 375bbl/hr for the dry equals a total throughput rate of 975bbl/hr 3. Buildup begins 7 am at a rate of 1125-600=525bbl/hr until 7pm when buildup is reduced at 600bbl/hr Trucks begin to wait at 3200/525=6.1 hrs after 7 am or 1:05 pm Peak is at 7 pm with 6300bbl/hr so (6300-3200)/600=5.16 hrs or 12:09 am there are 0 trucks waiting Total truck wait time is a little over 11 hours 6300/600=10.5 so the factory finishes 10.5 hrs after 7 pm or 5:30 am the next morning Factory run time is 20.5 hours 4.
The demand level for JoesCola is highly seasonal. • During the slow season, the demand rate is approximately 650 cases a month, which is the same as a yearly demand rate of 650*12 = 7800 cases. • During the busy season, the demand rate is approximately 1300 cases a month, or 15,600 cases a year. • The cost to place an order is $5, and the yearly holding cost for a case of JoesCola is $12. a) According to the EOQ formula, how many cases of JoesCola should be ordered at a time during the slow season?
(4 points) Problem 5: George Heinrich uses 1,500 per year of a certain subassembly that has an annual holding cost of $45 per unit. Each order placed costs George $150. He operates 300 days per year and has found that an order must be placed with his supplier 6 working days before he can expect to receive that order. For this subassembly, find: a) Economic order quantity. b) Annual holding cost.
New contribution margin = $70 Break-even point in passengers = fixed costs/contribution margin Passengers = 45,000 Train cars = 715 e) Springfield Express has experienced an increase in variable cost per passenger to $ 85 and an increase in total fixed cost to $ 3,600,000. The company has decided to raise the average fare to $ 205. If the tax rate is 30 percent, how many passengers per month are needed to generate an after-tax profit of $ 750,000? Before Tax Needed Profit = $1,071,428.57 Before Tax Needed Contribution Margin = $4,671,428.57 Contribution Margin per Customer = $120 Number of Customers Needed = 38,928.57 Whole Number of Customers Needed = 38,929
Manufacturing a buggy takes 20 units of wood and 1 unit of steel. Scheduled production of buggies for the next 2 months is 500 and 600 units, respectively. Beginning inventory is 4,000 units of wood and 30 units of steel. The ending inventory of wood is planned to decrease 500 units in each of the next 2 months, and the steel inventory is expected to increase 5 units in each of the next 2 months. How many units of wood are expected to be used in production during the second month?
Part-time customer service employees work four consecutive hours per day and their shifts can start any hour between 7 am and 7 pm. By corporate policy, which is consistent with Mexican labor law, the company limits part-time customer service employees hours to 50% of the day's total required hours. Further, in the interest of proper supervision of employees and employee safety, management has a policy that the actual number of customer service employees on the floor in the store should never exceed 30 during any given time period. Part-time customer service employees earn $500 per day, and full-time customer service employees earn $1100 per day in salary and benefits (here, $ = Moneda Nacional, ie, the Mexican peso). Exercise 1.
Final Discussion | 5 | 5. Appendices | 6 | 6.3 Plant Operations at 11:00 AM 6.4 Plant operations at 7:00 AM 6.5 Plants operation at 7:00 AM with additional dryer 6.6 Adjusting dryer capacity | 6788 | TABLE OF CONTENT A. Problem Statement National Cranberries Cooperative (NCC) currently faces with 2 dominant issues, which can be the results of the mismatch of the firm capacity, regarding the operations of Receiving Plant #1 (RP1). 1. Although a fifth Kiwanee dumper was updated last year with the hope of resolving the problem, it was unable to fix them and the overtime costs of the process are still very high.
The Clean Clothes Laundry Corner Shawn Morris MG585 - Managerial Decisions September 20, 2013 Dr. John Theodore The Clean Clothes Laundry Corner (A) What is Molly’s current monthly volume? Molly’s fixed costs are $1,700 per month, and her variable costs are $0.25 per item, in which Molly is charging $1.10 per clothing item. Molly’s current monthly volume is 2,000 items. The answer was derived by using the following equation: $1,700 ÷ (1.1 – $0.25) = 2000 (B) If Molly purchases the new equipment, how many additional items will she have to dry-clean each month to break even? Using information given in question C, the $16,200 in new machinery will be divided up over 36 months.
Next is the number of pumps one employee can produce in one month. Which is, 771/25 (number of pumps for one employee a month, the company would need a total of 30.8 workers, or 31 (rounding up). After this information is gathered, these are the possible results: • We need to hire 11 more employees (there are now 20, and we need 31) • In the case reading, it is shown that there are up front cost of $1100 this is found the $100.00 hiring cost, multiplied by the 11 new employees. • Monthly production ----- 775 (31 workers x 25 pumps per worker) • The end of month inventory will be figured as 1 will be 225 >>>> this is the production of 775 (+) existing inventory of 50 = 825, then (-) the production of 600. Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 Demand 600 750 1000 850 750 700 Production 775 775 775 775 775