DSO = Receivables / Ave. sales per day Receivables= DSO * Ave. sales per day = 20 * 20,000 Receivables= $400,000 (3-2) Debt Ratio: Vigo Vacations has an equity multiplier of 2.5. The company’s assets are financed with some combination of long-term debt and common equity. What is the company’s debt ratio? Debt ratio = 1 – (1 / Equity multiplier) Debt ratio = 1 – (1/2.5) = 1 - .40 = .60 Debt ratio = 60% (3-3) Market/Book Ratio: Winston Washers’s stock price is $75 per share. Winston has $10 billion in total assets.
Accounting and legal fees $150,000 Advertising $125,000 Freight-out $65,000 Interest $80,000 Loss on sale of long-term investments $35,000 Officers’ salaries $200,000 Rent for office space $160,000 Sales salaries and commissions $110,000 One half of the rented premises are occupied by the sales department. How much of the expenses listed above should be included in Perry’s general and administrative expenses for 201X? (TCO C) An income statement shows “income before income taxes and extraordinary items” in the amount of $3,000,000. The income taxes payable for the year are $1,500,000, including $260,000 that is applicable to an extraordinary gain. Thus, what is the “income before extraordinary items”?
Question : (TCO 7) Pritchard Company manufactures a product that has a variable cost of $30 per unit. Fixed costs total $1,500,000, allocated on the basis of the number of units produced. Selling price is computed by adding a 20% markup to full cost. How much should the selling price be per unit for 300,000 units? 6.
Ans: DSO (Days Sales Outstanding) = Accounts Receivables/Average Sales per day Accounts Receivables = 20 * 20000 = $400,000 (3-2) Debt Ratio Vigo Vacations has an equity multiplier of 2.5. The company’s assets are financed with some combination of long-term debt and common equity. What is the company’s debtratio? Ans: Equity Multiplier = 2.5 Therefore Equity Ratio = 1/EM Equity Ratio = 1/2.5 = 0.40 Debt Ratio + Equity Ratio = 1 Therefore Debt Ratio = 1 - Equity Ratio = 1 - 0.40 = 0.60 = 60% (3-3) Market/Book Ratio Winston Washers’s stock price is $75 per share. Winston has $10 billion in total assets.
Q= 4 weeks supply = 1600 units R= 400 units a week= 20000 units/ year C= purchase cost per unit= $1250 X (1-.20)= 1,000 H= holding cost= rC= $200 per unit / year S= setup cost= 2000 + 93.75 = $2,093.75 Setups per year= R/Q= 20000/1600= 12.5 Annual setup cost= (R/Q)(S)=12.5X $2,093.75= $26,172 Annual Holding cost= (q/2)(H)= (1600 /2)X $200= $160,000 Total Annual Cost= Annual Setup Cost+ Annual Holding Cost Total Annual Cost= 26,172+160,000 BIM’S Total Annual Cost= $186,172 (b) Compute the economic batch size and the resulting cost savings. Qo= √2RS/H= √(2(20000)(2093.75)/200) = 647 Economic Batch size= 647 Annnual setup cost= (R/Q)(S)= (20000/647) X 2093.75= $64,722 Annual Holding Cost= (Q/2)H= (647/2)X $200= 64,700 Total Annual Cost= Annual setup cost+ Annual Holding Cost Total Annual Cost= $64,722+ $64,700 = $129,422 Cost savings= $186,172- $129,422= $56,750 Cost savings= $56,750 Question 3 (a) Compute Victor’s total annual cost of ordering and carrying inventory. Assumption= 52 weeks/year R = 30 dresses per week = 30 X 52 weeks per year = $1560 Sales price = $300/dress C = 150 per dress Order Lead Time = 2 weeks Fixed Order Cost = S = $225 Cost of Capital = r = 20% Annual Holding cost = H = rC = 150 X 20% = $30 per dress Q = 10 week supply X $30 Annual
Joe makes $15 per hour and works 40 hours per week. 30-year mortgage interest rate of 6.25% and a monthly payment of $439.00 15-year mortgage interest rate of 5.25% and a monthly payment of $575.00 Down payment: 5% minimum Taxes last year were $375. Insurance is $250 per year. What you are looking for: 1. Can Joe afford the monthly payments with taxes and insurance for either a 30 or 15 year mortgage?
1. Assume that a radiologist group practice has the following cost structure: Fixed costs: $500,000 Variable cost per procedure $25 Charge (revenue) per procedure $100 Furthermore, assume that the group expects to perform 7,500 procedures in the coming year. a. Construct the group’s base case projected P & L statement Total revenue ($100 x 7,500) = $750,000 Total variable cost ($25x7500) =$187,000 Fixed cost=$500,000 Total rev-total var cost-fixed cost=profit 62,500 b. What is the group’s contribution margin? What is the breakeven point?
Therefore, CUTCO must consider strategic options that will lead to substantial growth. Limitation of Retail Expansion CUTCO’s current annual revenue is $260 million, which means it needs to generate an additional $740 million in annual revenues to reach its long-term goal. Each store, based on estimates from the pilot stores, is capable of achieving revenues up to $300,000. As CUTCO increases its prices by 5% every two years, its revenue would grow to $380,000. In order for CUTCO to make up the difference of $740 million in missing revenue, it would need to open 2,000 stores in the U.S. With an initial expenditure of $150,000 per store, this venture would cost the company $300 million.
Customer Analysis The total industrial consumption of cyano-acrylates which the new Bond-A-Matic 2000 would dispense was 265,000 pounds in FY 1978, expected to grow to about 335,000 pounds in FY 1979. Across 16 SIC categories, approximately 174,909 firms currently used cyano-acrylates (at a 15.5% market penetration.) 11% of CA users, i.e. approximately 19,240 firms used over 10 pounds of CAs per year, comprising at-least 75% of total current market. Assuming that growth in the CA segment stagnates, and that only heavy CA applicators would be interested in dispensing equipment the total market is still estimated at 19,240 users.